Chops on Royal Caribbean Wonder of the Seas

We embarked on our voyage on Royal Caribbean’s Wonder of the Seas, currently the fleet’s largest ship, and decided on a reservation at the signature steakhouse Chops. Our server’s name was Tony and he treated us like VIPs. He started our service with a bread basket that included onion rolls and pretzel rolls. Of course, I went for the pretzel roll because I can never pass up a soft pretzel no matter the shape or form it comes in. Is it still a pretzel if it is not twisted?

Pretzel Roll

As we were enjoying our rolls and deciding what we would eat for appetizer and dinner, we perused the wine list and decided we would each order a different glass of red wine from the extensive wine list. I cannot remember the kind I ordered but my dad enjoyed his glasses of Kendall Jackson because Tony came around and refilled our glasses when they were running low.

Red Wine

I started my meal with the Lobster Bisque. I was told it would be fishier than my usual bisque, but I didn’t find it fishy and that was good because I do not love when the fish taste overpowers any spices or ingredients of the dish.

The kids made sure they ordered a side of Macaroni and Cheese and the adults also ordered a side dish of it to try. We weren’t blown away by the side, but it was a nice alternative to the asparagus and steak.

Macaroni and Cheese

For my entree, I ordered the Prime Bone-In Ribeye in Medium Rare. It was delicious. I was also given a vinegar-based sauce and a peppercorn sauce, but the steak didn’t need anything. The flavor and the consistency were perfect. With the bone in, it was a tastier steak and I gave TK a large chunk of it so I could also try his New York Strip.

Prime Bone-In Ribeye

TK’s New York Strip in Medium Rare was also very good. It was cooked to perfection and was very flavorful. There was some fat in the cut, but he really enjoyed the whole steak. We both agreed that the Ribeye was the better choice. Sometimes, I do make great choices.

Prime New York Strip

For dessert, I ordered The Truffle so TK could try it. I was so full from eating the bread, soup, steak, and sides that I could not fit a dessert. The ingredients were Frangelico, Stoli Vodka, and espresso. It was a smooth cocktail, but I like my Espresso Martinis a little creamier.

The Truffle

My daughter ordered the Warm Chocolate Cake and generously allowed me to taste it. She’s pretty particular about her chocolate so I must have allowed her to do something she was thankful for that day. It was a sweet and spongy cake, but it was warm, and paired with the ice cream, it was great.

Warm Chocolate Cake

My aunt ordered the Key Lime Pie and it was a mile high. That meringue was tall and it looked delicious, but I am not the biggest fan of Key Lime anything, including pie. She enjoyed it though and ate her way through that fluffy meringue.

Key Lime Meringue Pie

TK ordered the New York Cheesecake for his dessert and then Tony ended up bringing me one too. I ended up eating just the top, but it was pretty good. I love anything with whipped cream.

New York Cheesecake

TK also ordered a Haute & Steamy which included Absolute Vanilla Vodka, Creme de Cacao, dark coffee, whipped cream, and a caramel drizzle on top. He liked his dessert drink but said that he liked mine better, again.

Haute & Steamy

The next time we sail on a Royal Caribbean ship, we will definitely make a reservation at whatever version of Chops there is because the signature steakhouse is a great choice for dinner. We even tried to eat lunch at Chops during our cruise, but it was all booked.

Chops, Wonder of the Seas, Royal Caribbean

What do you think? Let me know.