Giovanni’s on Royal Caribbean Wonder of the Seas

On our last night cruising on Wonder of the Seas, we had dinner at Giovanni’s Table Italian restaurant. It is situated in the Central Park region of this Royal Caribbean ship and it is my favorite neighborhood. I love that the tables are inside and outside, and there are trees and plants throughout. It is peaceful, yet active, like the real Central Park in New York City. And, it’s great for grabbing a drink and a snack, and people-watching.

Our server first brought over a plate of garlic knots with marinara dipping sauce. They were chewy and light, and my daughter even ate a few bites. There were plenty for everyone.

Garlic Knots

I ordered a glass of Prosecco to start my meal and it was perfect–plenty of bubbles and just a little bit of sweetness.

Prosecco

The server also brought appetizers that we did not order like the Cheese & Cured Meat Board. It included mozzarella, prosciutto, mortadella, breadsticks, olives, and an Italian bleu cheese. I enjoyed the mozzarella and meat but hated the bleu cheese and didn’t even try the olives. My dad made me try the bleu cheese with a fig jam and it was better but still not good. I don’t like stinky or bitter cheese, so if you like that, then you may like this.

Cheese & Cured Meat Board

The server also brought over some Stromboli with salami and cheese. It was very good and not as greasy as it looks. It had a little smokiness that I liked.

Stromboli

My mother ordered the Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo. She let me taste it and it was good and like most pasta alfredo. I liked that the chicken wasn’t mixed in so you could achieve two separate flavors on the plate.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

My dad ordered the Chicken Parmesan but with Pasta Puttanesca on the side instead of spaghetti. They served that type of pasta with salmon but my family doesn’t eat salmon, except in sushi, so my dad wanted the pasta without. He liked it but wasn’t amazed.

Chicken Parmesan with Pasta Puttanesca

For my entree, I ordered the Spaghetti Carbonara and it was great. It was the perfect portion size for me after eating appetizers. It was creamy and could taste the egg. I loved it and had never had real Carbonara before. I did not eat that bacon hat that came with it and looking back on it now, I regret it.

Spaghetti Carbonara

We also received a small glass of Limoncello after our entrees and before dessert. It was included with our meal and it was basically the same size that you receive in Epcot for $11.

Limoncello

The dessert followed and the server placed Go Bananas in front of us. It was like a warm hazelnut and banana stromboli. It was pretty good because I can’t resist anything with Nutella.

Go Bananas

My husband ordered the Cannolis and did not like them. Being that we are from New York, we have high standards for cannoli. We even had a Mets cannoli groom’s cake at our wedding. Cannoli isn’t really my thing, but my husband knows it pretty well.

Cannoli

On our next cruise, we will probably enjoy the wine bar at Giovanni’s with some apps and wine, because those were yummy, but Royal Caribbean has better restaurants for a full dinner.

Giovanni’s Table, Wonder of the Seas, Royal Caribbean

What do you think? Let me know.