A Tropical Treat at Kona Cafe

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On our first night at Walt Disney World in Florida, we dined at Kona Cafe at the Polynesian Village Resort. I love the theming of the resort because it reminds me of my honeymoon in Hawaii and I have a lot of fabulous travel memories from that trip.

We had to wait a few minutes for the hostesses to accommodate us, but we showed up with more people than my reservation listed, so it was appreciated. Our group of 11 was seated at a very long table and we all fit nicely, and we are not a small family by any means.

I started my meal with the Samoan Corn Fritters that I was excited for, but they had a little bit of a soapy taste, so I ended up giving them away to my cousin and aunt who liked them. I did, however, taste one of my uncle’s Sticky Wings and those were delicious. I like saucy wings, so they were sweet and enjoyable with a good amount of meat.

For my entree, I decided on a sushi roll because I read the menu before my trip and got excited about the choices. I ordered the Crab Rangoon Roll because I usually like Crab Rangoon from Chinese restaurants, so I thought this would be an interesting twist on the dish. Everyone’s food came and my dish was still missing, so the manager paid me a visit. He told me that they dropped my roll on the floor and were making me another one. I was glad that they didn’t choose to serve me the dirty one, but that would be the complete opposite of the Disney way. Not one minute later, the waiter showed up with my roll and it was piping hot.

This sushi roll was not like other rolls because it was deep fried. That’s right, deep fried in tempura batterThe crab salad on the inside was creamy, and the tempura shell on the outside had a great amount of crunch. I loved it because I need a little texture to my sushi and I also don’t like when the seaweed is the first item to touch my tongue. I unselfishly let TK try a piece and he said it was not real sushi. Well, it was definitely rolled up and cut into pieces, so that was enough for me to consider it sushi. I immediately regretted sharing it with him.

I washed it all down with a Kona Longboard Lager and it was the perfect beer and reminder of my honeymoon days in Kona. This restaurant is a great escape to the tropics.

Kona Cafe, Polynesian Village Resort, Walt Disney World, Florida

What do you think? Let me know.

