Real Tennessee BBQ at Bennett’s Pit Bar-B-Que

There was one request that my aunt had for our trip to Tennessee: Eat BBQ. So, I did a little research and found Bennett’s Pit Bar-B-Que. It had everything that we wanted: Fried Pickles, BBQ Chicken, Ribs and Mac and Cheese.

A Smackeral of Sauces

On our first afternoon in Tennessee, we decided to head over there for dinner and we were so glad that we did. I even dressed my daughter in a gingham dress so she could match the BBQ décor. We started our meal with the Trail Head Combo. It included Deep Fried Pickles, Mozzarella Sticks, Onion Rings and Hot Wings. The wings were not really hot, so I handled them just fine. The pickles were pretty small, so they were great to just pop in my mouth. The mozzarella sticks were like any I have had and the onion rings were crispy and had a great crunch.

Trail Head Combo

For our entrees, we were all so excited to try the BBQ items on the menu. My mother’s meal came with both fries and onion rings, so she was pretty satisfied with her choice of the Slider Trio. It had burnt ends, Carolina pork and sausage.

Slider Trio

My choice was the Chicken and Ribs Combo and I chose the Deep Fried Corn and Spicy Macaroni and Cheese as my sides. The corn was buttery, but not salty. I love roasted corn, so this was similar but sweeter than the Long Island corn that I love so much. I enjoyed the ribs, but when I added the Honey Q4U sauce, they were even better. I like wet rub BBQ better than dry rub. The mac and cheese was creamy with a hint of spicy pepper. This was some of the best mac and cheese I’ve ever had because it had a little kick to it, but it maintained it’s salty cheesiness as well. The chicken was great. It was basted in BBQ sauce, so there was no need for dipping. It was cooked perfectly and very moist. The biscuit that came with my meal was like the Cheddar Bay Biscuits that Red Lobster sells and everyone loves. It had a a great salty garlic flavor. I tasted TK’s Baked Beans and they weren’t my favorite because they were sweeter than other BBQ beans that I’ve enjoyed.

Chicken & Ribs

Big Daddy’s Ultimate Combo

My dad’s meal came with something called Hog Legs and they were just little legs of pork that he said were pretty good.  Aunt Rosie and my dad also had the salad bar with their meals and I was able to try the Tomato Bacon Soup. I usually like chunky tomato soup, so I enjoyed this, but I didn’t taste any bacon.

Tomato Bacon Soup

Tomato Bacon Soup

I was very happy that I was able to choose Bennett’s for our Tennessee BBQ experience. Fortunately, I read a bunch of positive reviews before I added the restaurant to our itinerary. My family congratulated me on another great pick. You’re welcome!

Bennett’s Pit Bar-B-Que, 2910 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN

2 thoughts on “Real Tennessee BBQ at Bennett’s Pit Bar-B-Que

  1. We love Bennett’s! This is our go-to lunch at the Gatlinburg location. Love their sauce they bring out with the food. It goes great with my usual pork shoulder.

What do you think? Let me know.

