Mannino’s is Great for Dates

After a long week, TK and I made plans with our friends to go out for a double date to Mannino’s in Oakdale, New York. It was a Saturday night, so when we arrived there was a one hour wait to be seated as a party of four, but fortunately, I was able to find a seat at the bar and enjoy a glass of Riesling beforehand. It was cool and refreshing, and I could feel myself relaxing more and more with every sip. Thank goodness.

White Clam Combo

       White Clam Combo

The food at Mannino’s is reasonably priced and very good. There is a great variety of dishes to enjoy, including the seafood and pasta dishes which are quite delicious.

We started our meal with the Rice Balls and the Clams Oreganata. The Rice Balls were small but crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside; exactly how they should be. The Clams were smaller than I like, but they had a great taste to them. I preferred the Rice Balls to the Clams Oreganata.

I guess I didn’t get enough clams because for my entree, I ordered the White Clam Combo. It had linguine, an assortment of different-sized clams, bay scallops and shrimp submerged in garlic, wine and oil. I made sure to empty all of the shells first to get them out of the way. This dish was very enjoyable and I finished the whole thing, even though it probably could have used a touch of salt.

TK enjoyed the Frutti Di Mare. It was chock full of seafood with shrimp, crab meat, clams, mussels and scallops. I made sure to take a snapshot of it before he started eating and he was super annoyed with me. That didn’t last and neither did his entree.

Frutti Di Mare

    Frutti Di Mare

After this delicious meal, we decided to make it a habit to go out on dates and to go to Mannino’s.

Mannino’s, 1575 Montauk Highway, Oakdale, NY, 631.218.0909

What do you think? Let me know.

