Begin with chocolate and end with chocolate at the Hershey Grill

Connected to the Hershey Lodge is a high-quality, casual restaurant called the Hershey Grill. On a Sunday with many restaurants closed in the area, I thought that we would have to wait for a table, but we were seated right away. Fortunately, we were able to sit outside and fit our stroller with us at the table. The interior of the restaurant is a little fancier than the outside, but both areas are still casual and offer a children’s menu.

We started our meal with exceptional beverages. I had the Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Martini and TK had Brewery at Hershey Chocolate Stout. He loved his beer because he loves stouts, but I didn’t dig it. However, I loved my martini. It was dusted with chocolate and peanut butter crumbs, and it was creamy and sweet. You could definitely taste the chocolate and the peanut butter. At the end of the drink, there was a melted Hershey Kiss in the glass, and you bet your bottom that I ate it! I thought the drink might be better as a dessert, but it was great with my meal.

Mel's iPhone 039

Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Martini

Before our appetizer came out, we received a bread basket. The pleasant surprise was that one of the butter tabs was actually chocolate butter. I could taste a little sweetness in the butter and a hint of chocolate, but it was enjoyable.

Mel's iPhone 041

Butter, Butter and Chocolate Butter

Then, our appetizer came and it was the Flash Fried Calamari. The calamari was crunchy and flavorful, but when I bit down on one of the other fried objects, I was surprised when I tasted the sourness of a lemon. It was a very interesting additive to the dish that I had never tried or seen before. The other fried option in the dish were the banana peppers, and I love those. Banana peppers are always tangy and delicious, but now I know what they taste like fried and they are still tangy, and tasty. The calamari also came with a Zesty Gazpacho Vinaigrette, and it was OK, but I didn’t care too much for it because I like marinara with calamari.

Flash Fried Calamari

Flash Fried Calamari

When our meals came, Jackson had Macaroni and Cheese, TK had the Texas Meatloaf and I had the Grilled Olive Brined Bone-In Pork Chop. TK doesn’t usually order meatloaf anywhere, so when I told him that people love it, he decided to give it a try and he was pleased. The pork chop that I ate was the best pork chop I had ever eaten. It was very juicy and seasoned perfectly. I loved it and I never order pork in a restaurant for fear that it will arrive very dry, as many do. The side dishes for the pork chop included a Fontina Macaroni and Cheese Cake and a Crispy Pancetta, Green Olive, Baby Arugula and Piquillo Pepper Salad. The salad was very crisp and fresh with a pungent bite from the arugula. The macaroni and cheese cake was amazing, so of course, I had to share a bite of it with TK so he could share in the culinary delight that was on my plate. Instead of the breadcrumb topping that you might be used to, there was a crunchy crust on the cake, and then the inside was warm and soft like the mac and cheese you know and love. I would take it as a side dish for every meal, if I could.

Even though we didn’t really have room, we were in the land of chocolate, so we had to order dessert. I had the Cookie Sundae and TK had the Peanut Butter Cup. I tried them both and enjoyed them both, but I couldn’t get too deep into them because I was full. The Peanut Butter Cup was better than the Cookie Sundae, but they both had their fair share of chocolate. If I could fix two things with the Cookie Sundae, I would swap out the chocolate sauce for hot fudge and serve the chocolate chip cookie warm instead of cold.

We were so pleased that we were able to eat at the Hershey Grill and hope to return to try their other seasonal menus at different points of the year. Oh, and eat more chocolate.

Hershey Grill, 325 University Drive, Hershey, PA, 717-534-8601

What do you think? Let me know.

