The Chocoholic Buffet on the Norwegian Gem

One of the special events that was on the itinerary for our week on the Norwegian Gem was the Chocoholic Buffet. On the first full day at sea on the way back to New York, they planned the white party, the family white party and the Chocoholic Buffet. I didn’t think it was a good idea to have everyone wearing white while serving them dozens upon dozens of chocolate desserts, but I don’t run or own a cruise ship, so my opinion really doesn’t matter.

At 9 p.m. the Garden Cafe Buffet transformed from a regular buffet to a full display of chocolate pastries, cakes, tartlets, puffs and even sushi. There were trays and trays of things dipped in chocolate or covered in chocolate or made of chocolate. It was kind of overwhelming, but I did my best to not eat everything that was presented to me.

What did make it to my plate were a couple of Chocolate-Covered Strawberries (good), Chocolate Cream Cups (good), a slice of Chocolate Cheesecake (very good), a S’mores Square (not good) and a Chocolate Tart (OK). And, I was able to wash them down with a glass of cold milk. Like I’ve said more than once, I was completely shocked that there was not one brownie, cookie or cupcake. They are my favorite ways to get chocolate into my belly and not one of them showed up for the party.

The Chocoholic Buffet was delightful, but there was a lot of repetition. I would’ve liked some chocolate mousse, brownies, cookies or cupcakes, and unfortunately, they were MIA. I did get my fill though, of course.

What do you think? Let me know.

