Are you ready for some spice at Big Daddy’s?

For my uncle’s birthday, we headed out to Big Daddy’s in Massapequa, N.Y. My Uncle George loves spicy food and he is always looking for something to burn his mouth. He is from Jersey and when he comes out, he loves to visit Big Daddy’s. I don’t mind a little spice in my food, but I don’t like spice just for spice’s sake. I want to be able to taste the food before it punches me in the face with spice, ya know? And, if something is really high up on the Scoville scale, I am a total wuss and won’t even chance it.

Since it was National Margarita Day, I started my meal with the drink of the day, a Pineapple Margarita. I could taste the sweet pineapple and it was quite refreshing. It wasn’t too strong either, and I could taste the tequila. For our appetizers, we chose Lucifer’s Mussels, Pretty Meg’s Wings and the Loaded Cajun Fries. Pretty Meg’s Wings were delicious. The wings were smothered in a sweet and spicy sauce, but this is how I like my spice, with A LOT of flavor. Lucifer’s Mussels were very good and very interesting. I was not used to having mussels with blue cheese crumbles on them, but it was a great combination. This was another flavorful, yet spicy dish, and I was very happy with it. The Loaded Cajun Fries were good, but nothing I would care enough about to order again. The fries were blanketed by smokey pulled pork and drizzled with a zesty sauce, so it was a hearty appetizer, but the other two outweigh it in flavor and complexity.

I probably could have just been happy with more wings and mussels, but I ordered a Grilled Shrimp Po Boy. The shrimp was fresh and the vinegar was crunchy, zesty and a great addition. I would actually consider putting it on most sandwiches because I love vinegar, and I love shredded lettuce, for some odd reason. The bread was perfectly crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. The sandwich was coupled with soft sweet potato fries, but there was no dipping sauce for them, unfortunately. My father loves their Jambalaya (even though he sweats while eating it) and my mother enjoyed her Chicken and Ribs.

There have been almost a dozen times that I’ve visited and enjoyed Big Daddy’s, and I am sure, if my uncle has anything to say about it, we will be there several more times. If you like to be enticed by flavor and then punched in the face with spice, give it a try. You will leave happy, and not bruised.

3 thoughts on “Are you ready for some spice at Big Daddy’s?

  1. That zesty sauce on the fries looks like remoulade. I can eat it on anything.

What do you think? Let me know.

