Gloria Estefan knows what she is doing at Bongo’s

On the last night at Walt Disney World, we rushed to our reservation at Bongo’s Cuban Cafe in Downtown Disney. The parking was a bit of a nightmare because they were doing construction to turn Downtown Disney into Hyperion Wharf, a new waterside dining, shopping and entertainment center for families.

When I checked in for our reservation, we had to wait a little bit because they said they had a table outside for us, but with the baby and the chill in the air, I figured it was not a good idea to be outdoors. So, Tom and I went to the bar for a couple of drinks. I got a Bongo’s Cuban Original Mojito and it was very good, but strong and I’m no lightweight.

When we were finally called in, we sat at a long table and ordered a few appetizers. We ordered two Bongo’s Combos with Fried Stuffed Potatoes, Pork Tamale, Cuban Mojo Marinated Fried Pork Bites, Traditional Cuban Ham Croquettes and Stuffed Yuca Cups. I enjoyed the Stuffed Potatoes and the Stuffed Yuca Cups the most. I love when my father makes Stuffed Potatoes, so I was ready for them to be delicious.

For my entrée, I got the Lechon Asado with Moro Rice and Tostones because Cubans know pork and it was delicious. I always get fried plantains (tostones) instead of sweet plantains because I’ve always liked the salty better than the sweet. My cousin Georgie got the Paella and it was insane. It came out with an entertaining lobster and a lot of delicious shrimp, chicken, sausage, clams, mussels and other seafood that I can’t remember all that well because I only ate a little bit of it. The moral of this story is that when a menu item says “Market Price” and “for Two” it may be a bit pricey. The paella was $75, but, from what I ate, it was good.

Unfortunately, we did not get anything for dessert, even though I hate Flan, so we finished the meal and headed back to the room. As you may already know, I am always down for Hispanic food, being a Hispanic myself, and Bongo’s is a great place to have some because they even have some great live entertainment.

Bongo’s was a great way to finish up our family vacation and I was very happy to end it with one of my favorite cuisines.

What do you think? Let me know.

