Don’t believe me? Ask the dishes at Be Our Guest.

While planning our trip to Walt Disney World, I tried to book a dinner at Be Our Guest in new Fantasyland in the Magic Kingdom with no luck. It was all booked up and there was no way we were getting in, especially with our big group. So, the day we went back to the Magic Kingdom, we decided to try to get in for lunch and voila, we were in!

When we got into the castle, we went past some suits of armor that were making noises and it kind of snuck up on us. I found myself saying, “Wait, are they talking?” Then, we found our way over to the cashiers to order our food. They gave us our cups for our self-serve drinks and we sat ourselves. I gathered my family’s soft drinks and their silverware. I didn’t get a drink because I bought a LeFou’s Brew at Gaston’s Tavern before we headed in. The LeFou’s Brew was an apple and marshmallow slushy with a passion fruit and mango foam on top. I actually liked it, but my family members who tasted it thought it was no big deal or too sweet.

Our food came out in rolling cases and I thought it was interesting that the waitress was able to find us, but I am sure that Disney has some kind of system. I had the Croque Monsieur, which is a French ham and Gruyere cheese sandwich with Bechamel sauce. The sandwich came with Pommes Frites, or fancy French Fries. The bread was crunchy, the ham had a good amount of saltiness and the cheese was creamy. I enjoyed it. The Braised Pork, on the other hand, was kind of bland and boring. I just didn’t get it. I also didn’t understand why it was on the lunch menu. Unfortunately, we didn’t try the “gray stuff” because we heard it was “delicious,” so that’s one reason to go back.

The decor was really the crowd stealer. The room we ate in was the ballroom. There were cute little babies painted in the fresco on the ceiling and out the windows, the snow was coming down. The room to the left was the hidden room and had the slashed painting of the human form of Beast and the wilting rose under the glass dome. Very true to the story. The room to the right was just a decorated room with a statue of Beast and Belle dancing together in the center.

The whole time, I felt like Belle or Beast might show up on the balcony above or walk through the door. It was great theming and a pretty beautiful restaurant. They even had the stained glass mosaic from the beginning of the movie. Like I said, we hope to get back to Be Our Guest for dinner and try the Mussels Provençal, Shrimp and Scallops and the Grey Stuff, of course.

What do you think? Let me know.

