Chef Mickey’s is for characters

The food isn’t spectacular, so I don’t actually have any pictures of the food or the buffet at Chef Mickey’s, but I do have family pics with the characters because they are the real focus. Chef Mickey’s can be found in the Contemporary Resort on the Walt Disney World monorail track, so it is a short hop from the Magic Kingdom.

I feel like the food isn’t my favorite, but there are fun little dessert tarts, Mickey Ravioli and Mickey Mac & Cheese. I do apologize, but nothing really stands out as a stellar food option. The thing is, you have to eat at Chef Mickey’s at least once to see if you like it because Mickey, Goofy, Pluto, Minnie and Donald visit your table and there are not a lot of chances to hang out with them. Also, kids love it because they have all of their favorite foods like mac & cheese, nuggets, pizza, chicken tenders, ice cream, spaghetti and meatballs. The children’s buffet is even shorter so that kids can reach the food and serve themselves. So, it’s really about the experience, and they serve Sam Adams Seasonal, if you need something to satisfy your palate.

Even though the buffet menu doesn’t include any serious gourmet options, the restaurant is still Disney fun. When you are swinging a napkin above your head, let me know if you are having a good time? Yea, that’s what I thought.

 

6 thoughts on “Chef Mickey’s is for characters

  1. I’ve never eaten at Chef Mickey’s but did Crystal Palace and had a similar experience. The food is average (most breakfast buffets are) but the character experience is nice πŸ™‚

    • You’re right, most of the food is pretty blah. However, one dish I did like at Crystal Palace was the Parmesan Chicken and Mushroom Pasta. It is the only thing I remember from there, and the last time I was there was in 2006.

      • Oh I love the Crystal Palace for lunch – the beef is delicious and I love how Americans make mashed potato (so buttery!) just their breakfast was pretty standard fare but I guess most breakfast places are similar really even at Disney

      • A lot of the breakfast options are similar, but if you read my review of Ohana, you will see that their menu is slightly different. And, while in Walt Disney World, you need to try the Tonga Toast. It is a cinnamon-covered thick French Toast stuffed with bananas. You can get it at Kona Cafe or Captain Cook’s in the Polynesian Resort. It is DELICIOUS!

      • Ooh thank you for the recommendation! πŸ™‚

      • Of course! Let me know what you think after you try it, whenever that is. Thank you for reading and commenting. I appreciate it!

What do you think? Let me know.

