Mangia at Mannino’s

 

Mannino’s is very close to Tao Show East on Montauk Highway in Oakdale, but the food is countries apart. At first, I thought that the wait and the prices would be atrocious and I would be under-dressed because there was valet parking, but that was not the case with Mannino’s. The prices on the menu are reasonable, with nothing more than $40, but if you want a side of pasta or mashed potatoes, that may take your dish above that.

To start, we ordered the Hot Antipasto and the Rice Balls. If you are a hefty eater or you are planning to share, you may want to order more than one order of each because the rice balls were delicious, but there were only three small balls and the antipasto had some great ingredients, but there was only one of each baked clam, shrimp, eggplant rollatini, stuffed mushroom and stuffed pepper. The stuffed pepper was my favorite, but I had to share it because there were four of us at the table. I do have table manners, most of the time.

For my meal, I ordered the Chicken Mannino which was breaded chicken with fresh mozzarella, Bermuda onions, plum tomatoes and a balsamic vinaigrette drizzled over the top. It was a great combination of crunchy and soft, hot and cold, and zesty and sweet.  TK got the Penne Dolce Vita (as recommended by me) and it had penne pasta mixed with chunks of crab meat, scallops and shrimp in a creamy sauce. His dish was very good and I would have ordered it instead if I was in the mood for seafood. At least I was still able to taste it because he sat next to me and I stole a forkful, as per usual.

After stuffing our faces with this delicious meal, we still had some room for dessert. Strangely, TK got a cappuccino and we shared a Warm Cookie Cake with Vanilla Ice Cream. Unfortunately, I didn’t take a picture of it because I couldn’t even wait a minute before stabbing it with my fork. Even though it was delicious, I was glad I was sharing because I was full and quit eating before it was even gone.

Fortunately, we had a great time and a great meal and just had to tip the valet on the way out. This is the place to go if you are looking for a nice night out with your lady, or your man—whichever, as long as you are hungry.

Mannino’s, 1575 Montauk Highway, Oakdale, N.Y., 631-218-0909

What do you think? Let me know.

