Lobster in Maine (finally)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One of the items on My Life List is to eat lobster in Maine, so I obviously had to do so while we were visiting Wells and Ogunquit. We looked for a lobster pound for lunch and we found one called Cape Neddick Lobster Pound, or the Harborside Restaurant. The restaurant setting was very nautical with people paddleboarding in the water flowing in back and buoys hanging from the fence in front.

We started our meal with the Baked Maine Crab & Artichoke Dip. It was creamy with chunks of crab and crostini on the side to spread with the dip. I could have eaten this and only this for my lunch, but I ordered the Lobster Stew instead. It was a thin cream chowder with big chunks of lobster and sprinkled with scallions. It was a little saltier than I like, but it tasted fresh and simply made. My father ordered the Captain’s Platter which was basically a delicious mound of fried fish and fries. The haddock was flaky and fresh and the whole belly clams were a great surprise because it is not very often that you receive an entire clam as a fried option; restaurants usually fry clams into strips. Also included in that mound, were fried shrimp and huge fried scallops. Both tasty. Luckily for me, there was enough food for my dad to share.

I would’ve loved a lemonade and an actual whole steamed lobster as my Maine lobster experience, but I tried the lobster in a way that I would not be able to order in New York. If you are going to try Cape Neddick Lobster Pound, I suggest the Crab & Artichoke Dip and maybe you should arrive for sunset because I bet it is beautiful.

Cape Neddick Lobster Pound/Harborside Restaurant, 60 Shore Road, Cape Neddick, Maine

What do you think? Let me know.

