Mama’s: Simple Name, Serious Food

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


After weeks and weeks of hearing all of the delicious details at work, TK suggested we visit Mama’s in Copiague, NY. So, we (6 adults) went and those colleagues of his did not lie. The food was pretty amazing.

Upon ordering drinks, we were greeted by a basket of warm garlic knots. We ordered the Italian Sampler as an appetizer and the Salumeria Antipasto Salad. The Italian Sampler included fried ravioli, mozzarella sticks, calamari and zucchini. All fried and all delicious, I mean, obviously, didn’t you see that I typed the word: fried. The Salumeria Antipasto Salad wasn’t really my thing, but it was a very nice arrangement of fresh mozzarella, roasted peppers, provolone, soppersata and artichokes. In this match-up, fried beat fresh. We also ordered the Overstuffed Baked Clams and they were delicious. The cheese, bacon and shrimp mixed nicely with the clams. I don’t think I have ever had bacon in a baked clam, but I welcome the addition. Bacon always makes everything better.

For my entree, I ordered the Breast of Chicken alla Giuseppe with spaghetti. There was a lot of food and I think I counted six large breaded chicken cutlets. After eating my fair share of the appetizers, I could only eat one cutlet. Chicken alla Giuseppe arrived topped with a handful of shrimp and a side plate of spaghetti tossed with the same pink sauce as the chicken. It was great, and since there was so much of it, I was excited to be able to eat it for lunch the next day. TK ordered Stuffed Rigatoni and he was extremely happy that he did. My other family members ordered the Cajun Jambalaya Pasta, Fettuccine Alfredo and Chicken Cacciatore, and everyone left happy.

We went on a Sunday around 4 p.m. and it just started getting busy and apparently, they are ALWAYS busy during dinner service and they don’t take reservations.

After we left Mama’s with our bellies full, I overhead my family talking about what they are going to order “next time.” Next time, I hope to get to the point that I can try a dessert.

Mama’s, 922 Montauk Highway, Copiague, NY, 631.842.9889.

What do you think? Let me know.

