Mel’s: Great name, wouldn’t you say?

My friends all call me Mel, so when we saw a diner in Pigeon Forge, TN with that same name, we just had to stop in and grab a quick bite. Mel’s Diner is a traditional ’50s diner with metal decor and primary colors adorning the walls and menu.

Like every diner in America, it offers milkshakes that people can order with most any dish. You are at a diner after all! I ordered the chocolate because I always do, even though I did see that they offered pineapple, Oreo, Reese’s and chanana, which I think is chocolate and banana. It was creamy and thick, and I was thankful for that metal tin that holds the remainder of the shake. I wanted to make sure I got it all. You can’t waste chocolate.

For dinner, I ordered a chicken cheese steak with peppers and onions. The chicken was seasoned and came in a crusty and crispy hoagie roll. It was more than I could eat, but it was a great diner meal. Mel’s Diner also offers all the regular diner fare like burgers, hot dogs with an array of toppings, breakfast and sandwiches. They even have taco salad and fried bologna sandwiches. I don’t advise eating those together though.

So next time you visit Pigeon Forge and get sick of riding the coasters and listening to the banjo players at Dollywood, go back in time and visit Mel’s Diner. They even have printable coupons on their website. Maybe I should tell Guy Fieri to add this as a stop for Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives.

Mel’s Diner, 119 Wears Valley Road, Pigeon Forge, TN, 865.429.2184

What do you think? Let me know.

