Mahalo for the Ono Luau

Dancers at the Spirit of Aloha Luau

Dancers at the Spirit of Aloha Luau

Before I start, let me say that the luau in Hawaii was authentic and amazing but, the Spirit of Aloha Luau at Disney’s Polynesian Resort was just so much more fun! The show was interactive and upbeat with sing-along songs and clap-along dances. My whole family had a great time. We were even able to drink a cocktail out of an actual pineapple (an item on My Life List). It was a drink called a Lapu Lapu that we ordered at the Tambu Lounge near the Ohana restaurant in the resort. It was delicious and a nice prop to add to our family portrait.

So, now to the food … We sat down at our front row seats and had salad, bread and fruit waiting for us. The salad was Mixed Greens with Mango Poppy Seed Dressing. It was crisp and zesty. The Pineapple Coconut Bread was just soft, light and delicious. It reminded me of the bread I ate in Puerto Rico as a child and I could have eaten just that all night. There was also fresh pineapple that wasn’t as sweet as it probably should have been because it was out of season when we were there. To drink, there was all you could handle beer and wine, so I chose beer and was very happy with the party atmosphere.

Then the entree portion of the meal came and it was a perfect spread. The Barbecue Pork Ribs were moist, zesty and tender, just the way I like them! The Roasted Chicken, Polynesian Rice and the Seasonal Vegetables were also all very tasty. The broccoli was seasoned and crunchy, also just the way I like it. Then the disappointment came in the form of a Kilauea Volcano Delight. It was a mushy, raspberry dessert that was shaped like an angular pyramid, not a rounded volcano, and I was not fond of it. I would have rather had some star fruit and more Pineapple Coconut Bread…

Like I said prior, the Spirit of Aloha Polynesian Luau was fun, energetic and delicious (Hawaiian=ono). We loved it and I would love to go back tomorrow if I could. Aloha!

Spirit of Aloha Luau, Polynesian Resort, Walt Disney World, Lake Buena Vista, FL

What do you think? Let me know.

