Best Sicilian Pizza Ever! Seriously.

On April 10th, my family and I stopped at L&B Spumoni Gardens on 86th Street in Brooklyn. My parents grew up in the Marlboro Projects so they know the pizza and spumoni very well. I’ve known about the amazing Sicilian pizza since I was very young and now I still know, without a shadow of a doubt, that L&B has the best Sicilian slices in the nation. I can’t say in the world because I have never eaten pizza in Italy, but this pizza is just delicious.

It has a thick doughy crust and the mozzarella is under the sauce which is topped off by a sprinkling of parmesan. I can easily eat three slices by myself, and have. Sometimes I will also have a little something on the side like a rice ball or some linguini with clam sauce. On this occasion, and yes I am calling it an occasion, I had linguini with clam sauce. It needed a little something so I sprinkled it with salt and garlic powder and let it sit. It tasted more flavorful after a few minutes. There was also a little too much parsley for my liking, but I shared it with my father just fine. L&B also has great fried calamari and if I didn’t give up fried food for Lent, I would have had that instead of the linguini. The calamari is lightly breaded with flour and deep fried to a very light brown. It is just the right consistency and not chewy at all. Also, the mussels marinara is very good too.

While I was enjoying my meal, I glanced over at the neighboring table and saw the two couples sharing a round pie. Perplexed, I said to my father, “If you are going to eat at L&B, why waste your time on a round pie when the Sicilian is so good?” He, my aunts, my mother and my uncle all agreed.

After our meal we topped it off with a little dessert. Everyone had spumoni, which is a blend of pistachio, almond and chocolate ice milk, and I had a vanilla cone with chocolate sprinkles. It was a great meal and memory jogger for my family.

L&B Spumoni Gardens, 2725 86th Street, Brooklyn, NY, 718.449.1230

What do you think? Let me know.

