We were cruisin’

(Experienced September 20, 2008)

Red Sail Sports Catamaran

Red Sail Sports Catamaran

While on the Big Island, we decided to take a dinner cruise on a catamaran with Red Sail Sports (which has ceased operation since the trip). The food on the cruise was an all-you-can-eat buffet style and included pasta primavera, potato salad, marinated steak and fried chicken. I couldn’t enjoy the food too much because my stomach was a little queasy being that the water was a little rough. From what I did eat, the pasta was creamy and good. It was also all-you-can-drink but I didn’t get to really enjoy that either. I had a Mai Tai and a Pina Colada, and that was about it. They also had fruit for dessert which included some juicy, sweet pineapple. The pineapple in Hawaii is the most delicious I have ever tasted. The fruit in Hawaii is fantastic, especially the starfruit. I always wanted to try it but on Long Island, the price of starfruit is out of control. In Hawaii, starfruit is sold on the street for like 50 cents and it has the crunch of an apple and the sweetness of a kiwi. I loved it. Anyway, the dinner cruise was peaceful and fun, besides the whole almost throwing up thing … that was an unwelcomed surprise.

What do you think? Let me know.

