Fish I never heard of

(Experienced September 18, 2008)
While in Maui, you should eat the food that you cannot get at home. The ingredients are fresh and delicious, and available on a daily basis. One night while walking on Front Street in Lahaina, we decided to have seafood, yet again, because it is so unique and plentiful in Hawaii. We went to Lahaina Fish Company and walked through the wide open door to our table in the back where we could see the ocean. It was dark out but we could still see the waves crash on the shore.

I started my meal with a glass of white wine and a bowl of Fresh Seafood Chowder. It was creamy and full of fresh fish. When it was time to choose an entree I had a little help from the sidebars of the menu that explained the texture and taste of every fish on the list. I chose the Opa, which was white, light, flaky and mild. I had it grilled with lemon and butter, and it practically melted in my mouth. The Opa came with onion mashed potatoes and they were a good accompaniment. I really enjoyed this meal because I felt like I really ate from the land and the sea of Maui.

Lahaina Fish Company, 831 Front Street, Lahaina, HI, 808.661.3472

What do you think? Let me know.

