Leilani’s on the Beach

(Experienced September 15, 2008)

Sunset seen while sitting at Leilani's on the Beach

Sunset seen while sitting at Leilani’s on the Beach

Leilani’s is right next to the Westin and is a little more pricey than I am used to, but hey, I was on vacation! We prepared ourselves for an expensive dinner and threw caution to the wind. We started our meal with a bowl of the Fish House Chowder. I am a big fan of the white so I try it wherever I go. This particular instance it was so good. It was nice and thick and had chunks of white fish and clams. TK (this is how I like to refer to my husband) and I both savored our bowls of chowder and practically licked them clean, but this was a more expensive meal so we wouldn’t dare…

Next up was my entree and I had the Steak and Shrimp. In Hawaii they marinate all steak with tangy seasonings and spices to make it just the right consistency. The shrimp were coconut crusted so I enjoyed knowing that my shellfish was served slightly tropical at my first dinner in Maui. The shrimp were moist and sweet, like most coconut shrimp are.

We didn’t have room for dessert that night, but I heard that the Hula Pie was awesome … hmmm.

The meal was pricey, but well worth it and so was the tip because the waitress was really cool and patient with us because I couldn’t decide what alcoholic concoction I wanted to accompany my meal and she didn’t get huffy.

Leilani’s on the Beach, Whalers Village, 2435 Kaanapali Parkway, Bldg. J, Lahaina , HI, 808.661.4495

What do you think? Let me know.

